Dr. Donald Rukare elected as new UOC/CGAU President

A New year begun with an official annual general meeting and elections of the executive board at the Uganda Olympic Committee offices in Lugogo on the 27th of February 2021. This in attendance had the General Secretary of the National Council of Sports Dr. Bernard Patrick Ogwel, representatives from the different sports federations and commissions and the media who graced this event.

During the meeting, Dr Bernard Patrick Ogwel gave his remarks congratulating Mr. William Blick on the good work done while in Office at the Uganda Olympic Committee, this he said while addressing the congregation advising the rest of the team to proceed with such good gesture to serve the Uganda Sports Fraternity.

During the event Mr Blick, enlightened the congregation on how the sports federation had been participating in the international activities, this he later added on that has been one of the greatest achievements they have had during his term in service, congratulating his board members too on the extraordinary work done during his term in office.

Awards of merits were also awarded for the dedication shown, hard work and pure love for Ugandan Sports. The first order of merit was given to Mr. Sam Muwonge the President of the Uganda Cycling Association, Mrs. Sheila A Richardson received the second award of merit, the President of the Uganda Handball federation. Sheila is also an executive Committee member of the Uganda Olympic Committee, the third award of merit went to Mr. Salim Musoke the President of both the Uganda Weightlifting Federation and Uganda Wrestling Association and the fourth order of merit went to Mr. Yayiro Kasasa (YK) an all-in round sportsman in sports like Rugby, Hockey, Handball, Swimming, Softball and Baseball. YK is a very proactive gentleman at the Uganda Olympic Committee.

The UOC/CGAU also held its elections. In so doing, Congratulations to Dr. Donald Rukare now president of the Uganda Olympic Committee and his new executive board members. The newly elected executive committee included Dr. Donald Rukare as the President, Mr. Dunstan Nsubuga the 1st Vice President, Mr. Moses B. Mwase the 2nd Vice President, Ms. Patience Beatrice Ayikoru the Secretary General, Mrs Lydia Gloria Dhamuzungu as the Assistant Secretary General, Mr. Zaid Sadik Nasiwu as the Treasurer and the Executive Board members that include Ms. Anne Mungoma, Ms. Carolynne Joanne Adongo, Mr. Abdul Nasser Sserunjogi, and Mr. Godwin Arinaitwe Kayangwe

This new journey kicks off with a lot of exciting activities already ongoing of which one of them is the already launched Olympic Refugee Foundation (ORF) Game connect Project among others. We wish the Newly elected team all the best of Luck.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *